A 52 Hertz Whale |#TheBiblioFiles

Friendship like any other relationship is hard work.

Especially if you look to Urban Dictionary for social cues or can’t just let that old thing go. Somehow James and Darren figure it out ! This story touched all of the awkward and embarrassing parts of my soul that I can never forget. It found a way to lace together the experiences of the characters through email.

Now I won’t sit here and pretend that email is some archaic thing of the past that wouldn’t be practical. However, it wasn’t the medium I expected for this story to be told in. Once the initial shock was over I began to appreciate them because it allowed the story to take shape in a very matter of fact and organic way.

It was a joy to see James and Darren grow into better versions of themselves. I recently saw an interview that Oprah did in which she described all of her failures as a push in the opposite direction. Both the main and secondary characters were pushed some to be better and others to find out what was left of the truth. This book didn’t end at all like I thought it would have which is okay because I appreciate the push.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Bill Sommer says:

    Hello Santosha,

    I just now managed to find your review of my novel A 52-Hertz Whale. (Our novel, that is, since I wrote it with Natalie Tilghman.) Anyway, just wanted to thank you for your thoughtful review. I’m glad you enjoyed the book!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AServingOfSantosha says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed my review your novel is now one of my favorites !

      Like

      1. Bill Sommer says:

        Awesome! I shared your review on Facebook, so hopefully it will bring more readers to your site. I have one small favor to ask. If you don’t feel like it, no worries of course. Could you copy your review over to Amazon? So many people look there for books that it really helps get the word out!

        P.S. I’ve been wanting to read The Vegetarian, and your review reminded me I have to pick up a copy like NOW.

        Bill

        Like

Leave a Reply

